IMT’s efforts to catalyze wide-spread and sustained demand for high-performance buildings is driven by an array of subject matter experts in real estate, building performance policy and programs, finance, codes, and more. Our staff represents broad and deep experience in every aspect of building energy efficiency. Click below on individual profiles to learn more.

Alex Dews

Chief Executive Officer
alex.dews@imt.org
Alex Dews is the Chief Executive Officer of the Institute for Market Transformation (IMT).

Betsy Law

Chief Operating Officer
betsy.law@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x329
Betsy leads all internal operations and oversees the strategic growth of IMT.

Amy Boyce

Senior Director, Building and Energy Performance
amy.boyce@imt.org
Amy develops and deploys local, state, and national level strategies to achieve broad-scale transformation through codes and building technology.

Jessica Miller

Senior Director, Policy Strategy and Engagement
jessica.miller@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x320
Jessica creates connections between the public and private sectors and works with diverse stakeholders to reach their respective climate and business goals.

Marla Thalheimer

Senior Director, Business Engagement
marla@imt.org
As IMT’s Senior Director of Business Engagement, Marla oversees the evolution and execution of programmatic strategy and services that drive high-performance building adoption across the real estate industry.

Lindsey Falasca

Director for Net Zero Federal Buildings at the White House Council on Environmental Quality
lindsey.falasca@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x318
As of August 2022, she’s serving in a detail position as the Director for Net Zero Federal Buildings at the White House Council on Environmental Quality.

Theresa Backhus

Director, Building Innovation Hub
Theresa@buildinginnovationhub.org
Theresa Backhus is the Director of the Building Innovation Hub, ensuring that the Hub’s mission and strategic vision are executed.

Precious Rideout

Director, Community Engagement
precious.rideout@imt.org
Precious Rideout is IMT's Director of Community Engagement, where she serves as the primary representative to community organizations ensuring that inclusive community engagement solutions are centered on equity and people.

Marshall Duer-Balkind

Director of Policy Programs
marshall@imt.org
Marshall Duer-Balkind is the Director of Policy Programs at IMT, where he works to develop and implement policies for driving high-performance buildings, grounded in community priorities and technical rigor.

Johanna Goetzel

Director, Corporate Giving
johanna.goeztel@imt.org | (301)802-0529
Johanna Goetzel is IMT's Director of Corporate Giving and leads the corporate and individual giving program, bringing over a decade of leadership in sustainability work and connections.

Lotte Schlegel

Senior Advisor
lotte@imt.org | (202)525-2883
Lotte will serve as an advisor to IMT through April 2024

Cliff Majersik

Senior Advisor
cliff@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x303
A respected industry leader, Cliff is a pioneer of concepts in real estate and building performance policy that optimize energy use and help transition to a low-carbon economy.

David Cohan

Senior Advisor
david.cohan@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x311
David is IMT's Senior Advisor and leads the VHE HVAC pilot program. 

Julia Eagles

Associate Director of Utility & Regulatory Strategy
julia.eagles@imt.org | (612)747-9821
As IMT's Associate Director of Utility and Regulatory Strategy, Julia is responsible for developing and deploying local, state, and national level strategies to achieve broad-scale transformation.

Hae-Young Kang

Senior Manager, Accounting
haeyoung@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x307
Hae-Young oversees IMT’s accounting and ensures nonprofit audit and accounting compliance.

David Gillick

Senior Manager of Business Engagement
david.gillick@imt.org
David is IMT’s Senior Manager of Business Engagement, and runs IMT’s Corporate Engagement Opportunities Program.

Yolanda Bonner

Associate Director of Building Performance, Building Innovation Hub
yolanda.bonner@imt.org
Yolanda is the Building Innovation Hub's Associate Director of Building Performance.

Jamie Braun

Communications Specialist
jamie.braun@imt.org
Jamie Braun is a Communications Specialist providing on-site advisory staff support for Commissioner Davante Lewis of the Public Service Commission of Louisiana - District 3.

Tara Brown

Chief of Staff
tara.brown@imt.org | (612)524-8558
Tara Brown is IMT's Chief of Staff.

James Burton

Senior Associate, Policy
james.burton@imt.org
James is IMT’s Senior Policy Associate and supports IMT's mission to promote the development and adoption of equitable building performance policies by state and local governments.

Caitlin M. Caplinger

Storytelling Manager
caitlin.caplinger@imt.org
Caitlin M Caplinger (they/them) is the Storytelling Manager, and joined IMT in April 2022.

Giulianna Di Lauro

Associate Director, Community Engagement
g.dilauro@imt.org
Giulianna is IMT’s Associate Director or Community Engagement. In her role, she serves as a primary representative to community organizations and city staff ensuring that inclusive community engagement solutions are centered on equity and accessibility.

Alexes Juarez

Senior Associate, Community Engagement
alexes.juarez@imt.org
Alexes Holguin Juarez is IMT’s Senior Associate of Community Engagement and joined IMT in March 2023.

Sarah Beth Kaye

Senior Manager, Foundation Giving
sarah.beth.kaye@imt.org
Sarah Beth organizes IMT’s end-to-end grants management and donor cultivation processes.

Cherylyn Kelley

Manager, Building Energy Codes and Policy
cherylyn.kelley@imt.org
Cherylyn is IMT’s Manager of Building Energy Codes and Policy and supports policy development and implementation.

Maddie Koolbeck

Senior Manager, Building Decarbonization
maddie.koolbeck@imt.org
Maddie is IMT's Senior Manager of Building Decarbonization. She manages a federal project on equitable building performance and helps coordinate IMT's federal strategy. 

Alexandra Laney

Associate Director, Communications
alexandra.laney@imt.org | (530)645-2539
Alexandra is the primary contact for media relations and manages IMT's public presence, including digital strategy and communication campaigns.

Diana Lee

Associate Director of Business Engagement
diana.lee@imt.org
Diana Lee is IMT’s Associate Director of Business Engagement. She leads IMT’s Green Lease Leaders program.

Hakeema Muhammad

Community Engagement Specialist
hakeema.muhammad@imt.org
Hakeema Muhammad is a Community Engagement Specialist helping create connections between the communities of District 3, and the Louisiana Public Service Commission.

Marshall Muse

Policy Engagement Specialist
m.muse@imt.org
Marshall Muse is IMT's Policy Engagement Specialist.

Rita Perez

Digital Content Manager
rita.perez@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x331
Rita is IMT’s Digital Content Manager and plays a vital role in shaping IMT’s social media strategies and multi-media production of outreach plans across IMT programs.

Rajiv Ravulapati

Associate Director, Government Engagement
rajiv@imt.org | (630)390-6221
Rajiv Ravulapati is IMT’s Associate Director of Government Engagement, where he serves to actively build and maintain relationships with IMT’s public sector clients in order to plan, propose, and implement equitable decarbonization policies that center community priorities.

Louise Sharrow

Manager of Policy Design and Implementation
louise.sharrow@imt.org
Louise Sharrow is IMT’s Manager of Policy Design and Implementation. She works to design and implement building performance policies that achieve climate and equity goals.

Charlotte Stenmark

Business Engagement Intern
charlotte.stenmark@imt.org
Charlotte supports the Corporate Engagement Opportunities (CEO) program.

Mary Thomas

Associate Director, Building Innovation Hub
mary.thomas@imt.org
Mary Thomas is Associate Director for the Building Innovation Hub, helping the local building community design, build, retrofit, and operate high-performing buildings in and around Washington, DC.

Ella Wetlesen

Manager, Business Engagement
ella.wetlesen@imt.org
Ella Wetlesen is IMT’s Manager of Business Engagement, supporting projects across the organization.