February 26, 2015

The Standard Bearers Award is now accepting applications for the 2015 cycle. Presented by the Institute for Market Transformation (IMT) and the International Codes Council (ICC), this national award program recognizes state and local jurisdictions and individuals that have raised compliance with building energy codes and achieved energy reductions in buildings using smart, innovative, and cost-effective strategies. Interested participants should visit the Standard Bearers webpage to download an application and send it to IMT at awards@imt.org.

“Building energy codes are an incredibly important policy tool in reducing greenhouse gas emissions from the nation’s buildings. However, even the strongest code won’t save energy on its own—implementation and compliance are key,” said IMT’s Cliff Majersik. “The Standard Bearers Award recognizes the unsung heroes who are addressing this issue in innovative ways while facing countless challenges.”

A strong building energy code provides an affordable and effective blueprint to ensure a building is safe, efficient, and comfortable for occupants. In the United States, national model building energy codes have increased energy saving potential by nearly 30 percent from 2006 to 2012. However, despite their wide-ranging benefits, energy codes remain unenforced throughout most of the country. IMT’s efforts to help cities, states, and counties improve the performance of their buildings have shown us that energy code compliance is a local issue that requires local solutions. Initiatives for training, education, and outreach need better funding and support in most communities.

Fortunately, some jurisdictions and building code officials are finding ways to raise compliance rates despite a lack of support and constraints on their budgets and time. These Standard Bearers demonstrate that leadership at all levels is crucial to achieving energy code compliance. Their actions help shape policy and guide best practices for improving code compliance and the efficiency and quality of our buildings. Over the past three years, Standard Bearers winners have ranged from individual leaders who are making a state-wide impact to state governments and local building departments that are developing strong energy code programs and exemplary compliance infrastructures.

“The International Code Council is committed to developing codes and standards that result in safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures,” said ICC Board President Guy Tomberlin, CBO. “ICC is collaborating with several associations to align green buildings codes and standards to benefit the environment, code compliance, builders and designers. Partnering with IMT on the Standard Bearers Award is an opportunity to identify and share best practices.”

Applications for the 2015 Standard Bearer Awards are being accepted in three categories:

  • State-Level Winner
  • Jurisdictional-Level Winner
  • Energy Code Leader

Award recipients will receive a travel stipend to attend the 2015 ICC Annual Conference and Public Comment Hearings in Long Beach, Calif. in September 2015, where they will behonored at the ICC Awards Luncheon. Winners will be photographed, featured in a press release sent to national, trade, and local media, and highlighted on IMT and ICC’s respective websites and newsletters.

IMT and ICC are pleased to welcome a panel of past award winners and foremost experts on building codes and energy efficiency. Together, these experts will help select the recipients of the 2015 Standard Bearers Award. The selection panel includes:

  • Justin Wiley, ICC, Vice President, Government Relations Planning & Operations

  • Robert Sale, ICC, GR Programs Liason

  • Jack E Applegate, CBO, FPE, CHI, Building Department Administrator, City of Astoria, Oregon, 2014 Standard Bearers Award Winner

  • Jim Meyer, Senior Associate and Director of Buildings Efficiency Program, Southwest Energy Efficiency Project (SWEEP)

  • Cosimina Panetti, Vice President, Building Codes Assistance Project (BCAP)

  • Shaunna Mozingo, Plans Analyst, City of Cherry Hills, CO and Winner of the 2014 Standard Bearers Energy Code Leader Award

*For more information on the award, including applications and past winners, please visit the Standard Bearers webpage and read the 2014 Standard Bearers fact sheet.


Warning: foreach() argument must be of type array|object, bool given in /app/web/wp-content/uploads/cache/98fb38d6824481a3eb32c92c6b25c8b7ba8616f3.php on line 19

Program Area(s):


Want to get regular updates from IMT?